homeslide1Why not come along to spectate at one of our race meetings? Entry is only £5 per car marqueespacer Kids taster sessions from £25 on our Lets Go Karting scheme marqueespacer Pit spaces can be booked for £20 per weekend marqueespacer We are near Banbury, Oxon OX15 6NW marqueespacer Race with our friendly helpful club

Results 17 July 2016

Results from the Whelen Europe Shenington SuperPrix 16-17 July 2016.  We thank all sponsors for their valued support.  The MotorsTV will be going out at 1855 on Monday 8th August with repeats and then on Youtube

Entry list for the Historic Karts

Championship provisional standings:

Honda CadetIAME Cadet,   MiniMaxJunior TKM,   Junior X30,  TKM Clubman,   TKM ExtremeKZ UK,   250 National

Results of the Finals - All classes except Junior X30 and TKM Clubman winners receive the MSA E Plate for the next year.  TKM Clubman winner receives the SP Plate.

The Karting Magazine Report is here: 

Honda Cadet A Final, B Final

IAME Cadet

Junior TKM

Junior X30

Junior Max & MiniMax

TKM Extreme

TKM Clubman

210 National

KZ UK A Final, B Final

250 National

OK Junior Final 1, Final 2

OK Senior Final 1, Final 2

Whelen Europe Shenington SuperPrix 16-17 July 2016

Amongst a massive entry of 280 drivers for the club’s premier annual event, televised for MotorsTV and airing on 8th August, the Honda Cadet class was by far the largest with KZ UK also needing a B Final.  Drivers and guests enjoyed the bar, live music and barbeque on Saturday evening whilst the youngsters had fun on the Bucking Bronco.  All class winners except Junior X30 and TKM Clubman also won the right to use the MSA E Plate everywhere, as English Champion, for the next year.  The TKM Clubman gets the SP Plate to use at Shenington.  Despite the big entry drivers had 34 minutes of racing and 20 minutes of practice.  Historic and Legend karts put on daily track demonstrations with about 70 on the track out of the total display nearing 100 karts.  They have their own marquee and displays.  The club wishes to thank all the sponsors – Whelen Europe, Spellfame Karting, NFU Mutual, JAG Engineering, Dunlop, Jade Karts, MK Racing, AFR, Zipkart, Tal-Ko, 210 Challenge, British Historic Kart Cub and Grand Prix Models.  Sarah Garner of Whelen Europe presented the trophies including up to three in some classes for novices, fastest laps in each class courtesy of Bryan Riman and the perpetual SuperPrix trophies. Strawberry Racing sponsored the new E Plate trophies for the OK and OKJ classes.  Daniel Guinchard, third in Honda Cadet, won the Gil Rixon Driver of the Day award after his gritty drive.

Wesley Mason had to fight hard to regain the front on the last corner after a fierce battle with both Archie Brown, finishing second, and Theo Micouris in Honda Cadet.  Daniel Guinchard joined the threesome on the last lap and had the better of Micouris, who fell to sixth. In the IAME Cadet class Jamie Mead got the upper hand on race long rival Arvid Lindblad at the last corner, Reggie Duhy third in a six kart train over the line.  A smaller Junior Max grid was won by Tommy Foster after starting third whilst in the concurrent MiniMax Oakley Prior outwitted the ABkC Open champion Jenson Butterfield on the last corner.  In Junior X30 Evan Cook leapfrogged Matthew Biry early in the race and stretched a gap soon closed by Luke Whitehead, Biry third some way behind and challenged by Harry Restall.  James Pashley lost the Junior TKM lead to Joe Taylor in a trading scrap but Joe Fowler bypassed both for the win, another for the local Jade team.  Pashley had to settle for third behind Abbi Pulling whilst Taylor fell to eighth.  Scott Allen guested in the KZ UK class and started the final from pole but soon succumbed to Ben Blick at the first hairpin.  Allen squeezed up the inside on the next lap to take back the lead and despite the close attention of Blick for the duration Allen took the win and the English (E) championship.  James Glenister maintained third from Adam Glear after Matt Sherwen fell several places.  Lee Stamp had little trouble keeping Richard Morris at bay in the 250 National class, like the KZ UK a round of their national Super 4 championship.  The 210 Challenge round was won by a fast starting Tom Whyte but Banbury’s veteran driver Tony Bury had slotted into second at the start.  His son Dan Bury was past on the next lap and chasing the leader whilst Tony Bury fell to a splendid fourth albeit behind Adam Woodward.  Shenington’s Andre Marot sponsored the TKM Clubman class and promptly won the final, albeit after a strong fight with James Cayzer.  That allowed Chris Yates and Ayrton Wynell-Mayow to close at the end.  Once Matthew Taylor had found a way past Stratford’s Tom Owen in TKM Extreme, he was able to pull away for the win.  Harry Moore just pipped Jack Griffiths and Sam Fowler for second with Owen in fifth.  The meeting also hosted the second round of the MSA British Kart Championships, the senior won by the flying Scotsman Dean MacDonald over Jacob Stilp and Harrison Thomas.  The junior was dominated by Jonathan Hoggard with Morgan Porter and Kiern Jewiss joining him on the podium.


Images courtesy and copyright of TSR Productions ( graham AT )

Web210 DanBury Web210 TomWhyte Web250 LeeStamp
WebClubman AMarot WEbHondaPodium WebHonda WMason
WebIAME JMead WebJun30 ECook WebJunMax TFoster
WebJunTKM JFowler WebKZUK ScottAllen WebMini OPryer
WebMini OPryerWis WebOK JStilp WebTKM MTaylor


Podium images

WebPodium210Nat WebPodiumHonda WebPodiumIAME
WebPodiumJunTKM WebPodiumJunX30 WebPodiumKZUK
WebPodiumMiniMax WebPodiumTKMClubman WebPodiumTKMExtreme
WebPoiumJunMax WebPodium250Nat  

 Selection of images of the historic kart demonstrations:

WebDSC 6273 WebDSC 6276 WebDSC 6284
WebDSC 6285 WebDSC 6301 WebDSC 6306
WebDSC 6308 WebDSC 6331 WebDSC 6336
WebDSC 6346 WebDSC 6350 WebDSC 6354
WebDSC 6363 WebDSC 6366 WebDSC 6379
WebDSC 6380 WebDSC 6394 WebDSC 6409
WebDSC 6417 WebDSC 6418 WebDSC 6419
WebDSC 6430    
  • sq1