homeslide1Why not come along to spectate at one of our race meetings? Entry is only £5 per car marqueespacer Kids taster sessions from £25 on our Lets Go Karting scheme marqueespacer Pit spaces can be booked for £20 per weekend marqueespacer We are near Banbury, Oxon OX15 6NW marqueespacer Race with our friendly helpful club

Results 19 June 2016

Results and championship standings for Round 6 of the cllub championship held on 19 June

Provisional Championship Standings:

IAME Cadet

Honda Cadet

Junior TKM

Junior X30

TKM Extreme

TKM Clubman


250 National

Results of the Finals

IAME Cadet

Honda Cadet

Junior TKM / Minimax

Junior X30

OK Senior

TKM Extreme

TKM Clubman

KZ UK / 250 National


Shenington Kart Racing Club Race Report: Round 6:  19 June 2016

With an entry slightly diminished by clashing meetings the club’s core classes stood up well, especially the two Cadet classes.  Luckily the rain held off, with just a light drizzle for the last finals and no wets needed, the day having started with warm sunshine.  The paddock was looking good with newly marked out pit spaces and everyone is now looking forward to July’s Whelen Europe SuperPrix & MSA E Plate three day extravaganza. 

The finals started with Honda Cadet where our usual large grid were led away by Daniel Guinchard from Caden McQueen with three karts crashing at the first turn. McQueen took up the lead, trading it with Maurice Henry and Theo Micouris until Guinchard battled back to the front.  In a dramatic late race flurry of changes, McQueen took the honours from Micouris, Guinchard and Henry. 

Junior TKM had a great grid, with the MiniMax starting at the back.  Local driver William Layton led the pack away in the but soon had to give way to Joe Taylor who he tracked all the way to the chequer flag, less than a second in arrears.  Joshua Sherriff had leapfrogged James Whitaker for third.  In a smaller than usual MiniMax race, Luke Richardson relieved Morgan Fennymore of the lead on lap four and held it until the finish.

The Junior X30 final was notable for an incredible number of lead changes, about ten in total.  Haskett led initially and entered a massive battle with Robert Welham until Matthew Biry managed to split them in the closing laps.  They flashed over the finish line virtually three abreast, Welham just a fraction ahead for the win over Haskett who had just pipped Biry.  But Biry was excluded for a technical issue on his engine, promoting Louie Short. 

In the IAME 2-stroke Cadet class, only a little smaller in entry  than the Honda, had Lorenzo Kordan and Leonardo Panayiotou breaking away at the front.  As Kordal lost some pace,  Panayiotou bid for the lead allowing Maximus Hall and Jack Williams to close up.  Kordal took back the lead from Hall but Williams out manoeuvred them all at Stratford hairpin on the last lap to take the win.  Hall pushed Panayiotou wide at the last corner for second on the road but took a 10 second penalty, leaving Kordal and Alfie Baxter-Davies on the podium. 

A small number of the new CIK OK Senior class were continuing preparation for their round of the MSA British championships at the SuperPrix, won by Scotland’s Dean MacDonald over Luke Knott and veteran Bobby Game.  Dan Kelly was in a class of his own in the 125 KZ UK gearbox category, shooting clear as Lee Ward, Hannah Lang and Malcolm Smith followed.  Smith was unable to capitalise on his good start, retiring later with an overheating engine, in his first race for ten years.  Ian Thompson was unfortunately found to be underweight.  Lang got the better of Ward, and Tom Longfield moved up to fourth. In 250 National gearbox Aaron Powell prevailed after a long battle following Chris Morris, overcoming his earlier heat woes. 

Matthew Taylor and Harry Moore broke clear at the front of the TKM Extreme with Max Goldsmith in third.  Lewis Wadley leapfrogged Colin Morris and later Goldsmith to take third.  Dean Hale was clear of the pack in TKM Clubman, with a hotly contested second place battle.  David Turton and Daniel Mense were trading that place, joined by Michael Green and in the last shuffle Mense took the place over Turton and Green.  James Cayzer headed the local pairing of Kyle Morby and Andre Marot.  Steven Hobbs was another to fall foul of the scales.

Results are available here:

Also see the Karting Magazine report here: 

Provisional results also available from this page: 

Images courtesy and copyright of TSR Productions

WebHonda CMacQueen WebIAME JWilliams
WebJunTKM JTaylor WebJunX30 RHaskett
WebJunX30 RWelham WebOK DMacDonald
WebTKMClub DeanHale WebTKM MTaylor
Web 250 CMorris Web KZDKelly
  • sq1