homeslide1Why not come along to spectate at one of our race meetings? Entry is only £5 per car marqueespacer Kids taster sessions from £25 on our Lets Go Karting scheme marqueespacer Pit spaces can be booked for £20 per weekend marqueespacer We are near Banbury, Oxon OX15 6NW marqueespacer Race with our friendly helpful club

Results 15 May 2016



Results and Championship Standings for the Club Championship Round 5 on 15 May 2016 are below

Find the race report below or on Karting Magazine here:

Provisional Championship Standings

IAME Cadet

Honda Cadet


Junior TKM

Junior X30

TKM Clubman

Rotax Max

250 National

Results of the A Finals:

IAME Cadet

Honda Cadet

MiniMax / Junior TKM

Junior X30

OK Junior

TKM Extreme / Clubman

OK Senior /Rotax Max / Senior X30

250 National / KZ UK

Full results are available here:

Images courtesy and copyright of TSR Productions (contact graham AT )






Shenington Kart Racing Club Round 5 Race Report: 15 May 2016



The club held the very first races for the new International OK and OK Junior classes which will later in the year be the competition for the MSA British Kart Championships, with one round at the Shenington SuperPrix and E Plate meeting in July.  Both seniors and juniors looked extremely quick although not quite yet challenging the previous KF3 and Super KF lap records.  In the Juniors Matthew Hopcraft led the pack away but was soon passed by eventual winner Bradley Barrett.  Lorcan Hanafin closed on the lead duo in the closing stages as Barrett defended rather too vigorously, resulting in a talking to by the Clerk.  These very fast karts have gone back to basics, ditching electric button starts, clutches and batteries in the interests of having a lighter kart, even although they now need a push to start.  Scotsman Dean MacDonald dominated the OK Senior final, with a lights to flag victory.  The evergreen Bobby Game, now over 40 years of age, started second but was elbowed wide at the first hairpin by James Johnson, the latter pulling out a few laps later. He had earlier seized in a heat but otherwise the karts showed impressive reliability. Game recovered to third behind Welshman Harrison Thomas.  The weather was extremely favourable with a good sunny day for the 142 competitors enjoying 40 minutes of track time each.  A very big grid of Honda Cadets had Theo Micouris and Maurice Henry trading the lead and breaking away from the rest.  But a short battenburg neutralisation period allowed the following Thomas Mills and Dominic Kilminster to join the lead battle.  Henry held on for the win but Micouris was pushed back to fourth behind Mills and Robbie Stapleford.  Lorcan Hanafin was out again in the MiniMax, passing Clayton Ravenscroft in the opening stages and the pair pulling away from Guy Cunnington.  A quick double trade of the lead on the penultimate lap had Hanafin holding on for the win.  In Junior TKM Will Layton quickly lost his lead to Joe Taylor and Zak Bowen.  Then Bowen swooped into the lead and kept it through to the chequer, with Archie Strong some distance back in third.  From fifth at the start of the Junior X30 Robert Welham carved through to eke out a one second lead.  Alessandro Ceronetti had reached second whilst early leader Joshua Martin enjoyed a cushion over the battle behind.  As Ceronetti fell to fifth in a sudden re-shuffle, Welham grabbed the lead, Martin salvaging third behind Louie Short. The IAME Cadet race saw Lorenzo Kordal, Jamie Mead and Charily Typaldo-Cole all having turns to lead until the latter fell back.  That left Kordal and Mead trading first place with Kordal having the verdict on the very last corner.  It took the local Banbury driver Eddie Mawle five laps to leapfrog to the front of the TKM Clubman economy class final, and once there he protected his lead against James Cayzer and Graham Stewart.  In the concurrent TKM Extreme Charles Machin and Will Lakin traded the lead, but Machin prevailed.  The 250 National gearbox race was one of attrition, as Richard Morris momentarily had the lead until a raised hand showed a problem.  That allowed Aaron Powell to regain the lead for the win over Mark Pask.  In a thinly supported KZ UK, Tom Longfield took Lee Ward after a less than perfect start.







 All images courtesy and copyright of TSR Productions




  • sq1